Rukutana Finally Declared Winner of Rushenyi County NRM Primaries

State Minister For Labor Hon Rukutana Mwesigwa has finally  been declared the winner of Rushenyi county NRM Primary elections for the Parliamentary flag bearer in the forthcoming 2021 general elections.

He was announced winner of the election by the NRM Electoral commission chairman Dr. Tanga Odoi  who confirmed that he got 25310 votes beating his main rival Kabasharira who had 25290 votes leaving a difference of only 20 votes.

“I therefore declare Mwesigwa Rukutana who has polled the highest number of votes representing 46.27% as the duly elected NRM flag bearer for Rushenyi constituency Member of Parliament,” Tanga said at the NRM electoral commission headquarters in Kampala.

In the recently concluded NRM primaries, Rukutana rejected the out-come of an election citing that about eight (8) polling stations were not included which forced the Dr. Tanga Odoi to cancel results in which the NRM returning officer declared Kabasharira winner having defeated Minister Mwesigwa Rukutana.

After the second tallying of votes from over 12 polling stations that had not been counted,  Rukutana emerged winner of Rushenyi country defeating his main rival Naome Kabasharira.

This comes after he was released by  Ntungamo Chief Magistrate’s court  on a cash bail of Shs 4M after he had been in jail on charges of attempted murder, threatening violence, malicious damage and theft of a gun.

Comments are closed.