Final NRM CEC Results as Kadaga, Oulanyah, Mukula Win

The Speaker of Parliament Rebecca Alitwala Kadaga has defeated Persis Namuganza, the State Minister for Lands to retain her position as the National Resistance Movement (NRM) second National Vice-Chairperson.

According to results declared by the NRM Electoral Commission Chairman Dr Tanga Odoi, this morning, Kadaga scored 6,776 votes against Namuganza’s 3,943 votes.

On the otherhand, Deputy Speaker Jacob Oulanyah has also taken over the seat that has been held by Col. Sam Engola. Oulanyah scored 7,473 votes against Engola’s 1,665 votes to become the NRM vice chairman northern region. Timothy Okee Jokene got 895 votes while Dr Odongo Oledo managed only 277 votes.

The position of vice-chairperson eastern has been won by Capt. Mike Mukula who got 5,818 votes against his rival Sanjay Tana who had 4,162 votes. Akello Christine the other candidate in the race had 162 votes.

Meanwhile, Katongole Singh Marwaha defeated the incumbent Amooti Godfrey Nyakana for vice chairperson Kampala after scoring 4,503 votes against 2,665 votes. Salim Uhuru came third with 2,466 votes.

In Karamoja, the incumbent Simon Peter Aleper retained his seat after defeating his only challenger Lokor Jimmy with 8,143 against 2,220.

For the Vice chairman western region, Chris Baryomunsi, the State Minister for Housing defeated the incumbent Maj. Gen. Matayo Kyaligonza with 5,947 votes against 2,550. In the same race, Florence Kintu Tumwine came third with 1,875, followed by Muhangi Wilberforce with 1,255 votes, Boaz Kafuda fifth with 602 votes and Dr Diini Kisembo with 224 votes.

Well as for vice chairman central region, Godfrey Kiwanda Ssuubi, the State Minister for Tourism, defeated his closest challenge Moses Karangwa Kalisa. Kiwanda got 4,749 votes against Karangwa’s 3,701. Other contestants in the race were Kiganda Twaha Ssonko who got 1,048 votes, Mayengo Moses who got 127 votes and Magaro John 675.

Comments are closed.