Magufuli Sworn in for His Second Term as President of Tanzania

John Pombe Magufuli has been sworn into office for his second term as President of Tanzania mid tight security by the police and the army.

President Magufuli’s second term is to last for five years between 2021 to 2025.

He was voted again in to power on the 28th October 2020 after getting 85% (12.5 million votes) of the total votes polled, while his main rival, Tundu Lissu got 13% (1.9 million votes).

President John Magufuli speaking during his inauguration.

The swearing-in came despite the opposition complaining about irregularities during the elections and calling for a fresh election as well as the disbandment of the electoral commission.

Police and the army deployed heavy to prevent any demonstrations from taking place.

Magufuli’s inauguration  was attended by President Yoweri Museveni and Zimbabwe’s Emmerson Mnangagwa.


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *